EURAMET - the European Association of National Metrology Institutes

It is a non-profit association under German law. Its offices are located in Braunschweig (Germany). EURAMET was established in Berlin on 11 January 2007 and on 1 July 2007 took over the role of EUROMET as a Regional Metrology Organization (RMO). Before this transformation the predecessor organization - European Collaboration in Measurement Standards EUROMET was created in Madrid, Spain on 23 September 1987 and started to work on 1 January 1988. Now, the existing since 2007 EURAMET is a collaborative alliance of national metrological organizations coordinating efforts of member states of the European Union (EU) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). The full membership of EURAMET is restricted to national metrology institutes (NMIs) of European Union and European Free Trade Association member states, well-established NMIs of other European states and the European Commission's Institute working in the field of Metrology. Associate membership is available for Designated Institutes from member states and NMIs which cannot be full members. The Central Office of Measures joined EURAMET in 2007.

The mission of EURAMET is to develop and disseminate an integrated, cost effective and internationally competitive measurement infrastructure for Europe with help of the European Metrology Research Programme (EMRP) and the European Metrology Programme for Innovation and Research (EMPIR). So far EURAMET has launched more than 100 joint research projects (JRP). An important field of activity is the CIPM MRA (Mutual Recognition Arrangement of the International Committee for Weights and Measures), a Mutual Recognition Scheme which underpins and formalizes technical competence of its signatory National Metrology Institutes and Designated Institutes.

As a Regional Metrology Organization (RMO) of Europe EURAMET coordinates the cooperation of the European National Metrology Institutes in metrology research, traceability of measurements to the SI units, international recognition of national measurement standards and related Calibration and Measurement Capabilities (CMC).

EURAMET coordinates metrological activity at European level, liaising with the OIML and BIPM. Amongst its publications are, inter alia, various calibration and technical guides and a booklet on European time zones.

Organizational structure of EURAMET

General Assembly (GA)

The highest authority and decision making body of EURAMET is the General Assembly (GA). Each member is represented by one Delagete on the GA. The applying for membership and of the JRC-IRMM (Joint Research Centre Institute for Reference Materials and Measurements) representatives of National Metrology Institutes (NMIs) have observer status in the GA. The Central Office of Measures hosted the 9th EURAMET GA in Krakow in June 2015.


The legal representatives of EURAMET are one Chairperson and 2 Vice-Chairpersons, who are elected for a period of three years.

Board of Directors (BoD)

The governance and strategic direction of EURAMET is area of responsibility of the Board of Directors composed of the three Chairpersons, and six members elected out of the Delegates.

EMPIR Committee

The European Metrology Programme for Innovation and Research (EMPIR) and the European Metrology Research Programme (EMRP) are directed by EMPIR Committee in all matters concerning the execution of joint research programmes. The Chair of the EMPIR Committee is one of the two Vice-Chairpersons of EURAMET. Each member participating in EMPIR or EMRP has one representative in the EMPIR Committee.

Research Council

The role of the EURAMET's advisory board for EMPIR and EMRP plays the Research Council consisting of institutional and personal members, drawn from the external stakeholder community.


The permanent secretariat of EURAMET is located in Braunschweig, Germany.

Technical Committees (TC)

12 Technical Committees coordinate the technical work of EURAMET. Contact persons or observers make possible for Members and Associates to participate in the work of TCs. TC contact persons are appointed by the national Delegates. Within each TC can be established Technical Sub-Committees (SC). The Central Office of Measures participates actively in works of the EURAMET Technical Committees.

List of EURAMET's Technical Committees
  1. TC-AUV - Acoustics, Ultrasound and Vibrations,
  2. TC-EM - Electricity and Magnetism,
  3. TC-F - Flow,
  4. TC-IM - Interdisciplinary Metrology,
  5. TC-IR - Ionizing Radiation
  6. TC-L - Length,
  7. TC-M - Mass and Related Quantities,
  8. TC-MC - Metrology in Chemistry,
  9. TC-PR - Photometry and Radiometry,
  10. TC-Q - Quality
  11. TC-T - Thermometry,
  12. TC-TF - Time and Frequency.
go up